Texas Forensic Science Commission

Commission Members 
Photo of Dr. Jeffrey J. Barnard

Dr. Jeffrey J. Barnard

Presiding Officer

Jeffrey Barnard, M.D. of Dallas is director of the Southwestern Institute of Forensic Science and chief medical examiner of Dallas County and a professor of pathology at The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center. He served as chairman of the Rapport Society at Texas A&M University and is a member of the National Association of Medical Examiners and the Southwest Transplant Alliance.... Read more

Photo of Dr. Patrick Buzzini

Dr. Patrick Buzzini

Dr. Patrick Buzzini is an associate professor with the Department of Forensic Science at Sam Houston State University.  Dr. Buzzini graduated with a BS+MS (2001) and a doctoral degree (2007) both in forensic science from the Forensic Science Institute at the School of Criminal Sciences with the University of Lausanne in Switzerland.  Dr. Buzzini has more than 15 years of... Read more

Photo of Dr. Michael Coble

Dr. Michael Coble

Michael Coble, PhD, of Fort Worth is an Associate Professor and the Associate Director of the Center for Human Identification at the University of North Texas Health Science Center. Dr. Coble received a Bachelor of Science in Biology from Appalachian State University, a Master’s Degree in Forensic Science and a PhD in Genetics from The George Washington University. He has... Read more

Photo of Mark Daniel, J.D.

Mark Daniel, J.D.

Mark Daniel, J.D. of Fort Worth is an attorney at the Law Office of Mark G. Daniel. He previously served as assistant district attorney for the Tarrant County District Attorney’s Office. He is a member and former president of the Texas Criminal Defense Lawyers Association, Tarrant County Bar Association and the Tarrant County Criminal Defense Lawyers Association. Daniel received a Bachelor... Read more

Photo of Dr. Nancy Downing

Dr. Nancy Downing

Nancy Downing, Ph.D. of Bryan is an associate professor at Texas A&M University College of Nursing and a forensic nurse at Baylor, Scott & White Hospital in College Station. She is chair of the International Association of Forensic Nurses Campus Sexual Assault Task Force and a member of its research committee. Additionally, she is a member of the International Society of... Read more

Photo of Dr. Jasmine Drake

Dr. Jasmine Drake

Jasmine Drake, Ph.D. of Conroe is an assistant professor and laboratory coordinator at Texas Southern University Barbara Jordan-Mickey Leland School of Public Affairs in the Department of Administration of Justice. Previously, she served as an assistant professor at Sam Houston State University College of Criminal Justice in the Department of Forensic Science. Additionally, she served as a forensic chemist at the... Read more

Photo of Dr. Sarah Kerrigan

Dr. Sarah Kerrigan

Sarah Kerrigan, Ph.D. of The Woodlands is Chair of the Department of Forensic Science and Director of the Institute for Forensic Research, Training and Innovation at Sam Houston State University. Previously, she served as Bureau Chief of Toxicology for the New Mexico Department of Health, Scientific Laboratory Division in Albuquerque. She is an appointee to the National Institute of Standards and... Read more

Photo of Jarvis Parsons, J.D.

Jarvis Parsons, J.D.

Jarvis Parsons, J.D. of Bryan is the District Attorney of Brazos County. Previously, he served as chief prosecutor of the 272nd District Court and as a faculty advisor and presenter for the Texas District and County Attorneys Association. He is a board member of Scotty’s House - Child Advocacy Center, TEEX Central Texas Police Academy Advisory Board, Sexual Assault Resource Center... Read more