Supreme Court

Photo of Chief Justice Nathan L. Hecht

Chief Justice Nathan L. Hecht

Place 1

Nathan L. Hecht is the 27th Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Texas. He has been elected to the Court seven times, first in 1988 as a Justice and then in 2014 and 2020 as Chief Justice. He is the longest-tenured Texas judge in active service. Throughout his service on the Court, he has overseen revisions to the rules of... Read more

Photo of Justice Debra Lehrmann

Justice Debra Lehrmann

Place 3

Justice Debra Lehrmann is the Senior Justice on the Supreme Court of Texas and the Court’s longest-serving woman Justice in Texas history. With a total of almost 35 years of judicial experience, she was a trial judge in Tarrant County for 23 years prior to her appellate service and has served the Bar in leadership capacities on both a state... Read more

Photo of Justice Jeff Boyd

Justice Jeff Boyd

Place 7

Jeff Boyd joined the Court on December 3, 2012, appointed by Governor Rick Perry to fill Justice Dale Wainwright's unexpired term. Wainwright resigned September 30th. Justice Boyd was the governor's chief of staff since September 2011. Before that he was Gov. Perry's general counsel. Boyd is a graduate of Abilene Christian University and earned his law degree summa cum laude from... Read more

Photo of Justice John Phillip Devine

Justice John Phillip Devine

Place 4

Justice John Devine was first elected to the Supreme Court of Texas in November 2012. He previously served for seven years as judge of the 190th State District Court in Harris County and for nine years as an appointed special judge for the Harris County justice of the peace courts. A native of Indiana, Justice Devine attended Ball State University, graduating... Read more

Photo of Justice Jimmy Blacklock

Justice Jimmy Blacklock

Place 2

Justice Jimmy Blacklock was appointed to the Texas Supreme Court in January 2018 by Governor Greg Abbott. Before that, Justice Blacklock served as Governor Abbott’s General Counsel and in the Attorney General’s Office under then-AG Abbott.  While at the AG’s Office, he handled appeals and trials of constitutional cases in state and federal court involving matters such as federalism, religious liberty,... Read more

Photo of Justice Brett Busby

Justice Brett Busby

Place 8

Brett Busby was appointed to the Court by Governor Greg Abbott in February 2019, confirmed unanimously by the Texas Senate, and elected to a full term in November 2020. An experienced appellate litigator, Justice Busby was a partner at the Bracewell firm in Houston and served on the Fourteenth Court of Appeals for six years before joining the Supreme Court. Justice... Read more

Photo of Justice Jane Bland

Justice Jane Bland

Place 6

Jane Bland has served in the state judiciary for 25 years and on the Supreme Court of Texas since 2019. Before her service on the Court, she served 15 years as a justice on the First Court of Appeals and six years as a State District Judge. Justice Bland chairs the Judicial Commission on Mental Health. She is also the Court’s... Read more

Photo of Justice Rebeca Aizpuru Huddle

Justice Rebeca Aizpuru Huddle

Place 5

Justice Rebeca Aizpuru Huddle was appointed to the Supreme Court of Texas by Governor Greg Abbott in October 2020 and elected to a full term in 2022. She is a native of El Paso, where she grew up and attended Stephen F. Austin High School. Justice Huddle earned her undergraduate degree in political science at Stanford University and taught Spanish... Read more

Photo of Justice Evan A. Young

Justice Evan A. Young

Place 9

Justice Evan A. Young was appointed to the Supreme Court of Texas in November 2021 by Governor Greg Abbott. Justice Young subsequently was elected in November 2022 to a term that expires December 31, 2028. Justice Young clerked for U.S. Supreme Court Justice Antonin Scalia and served as Counsel to the Attorney General at the U.S. Department of Justice, during which... Read more