Texas Forensic Science Commission
Forensic Analyst or Technician License Renewal
License renewal applicants must fulfill CFE requirements as described in Texas Administrative Code §651.208. Applicants may apply to renew a forensic analyst or technician license up to 60 days prior to the expiration of the two-year license term. Renewed licenses take effect on the day following the date the applicant's previous license expired.
For instructions on renewing a blanket license, see below under Blanket License Renewal.
Continuing Forensic Education ("CFE")
****ANNOUNCEMENT: PLEASE NOTE THAT THE COMMISSION VOTED AT ITS 6/12/2020 QUARTERLY MEETING TO SUSPEND THE LIMITATION ON THE NUMBER OF JOURNAL ARTICLES THAT CAN BE READ IN FULFILLMENT OF GENERAL AND/OR DISCIPLINE-SPECIFIC CFE DURING THE CURRENT LICENSE CYCLE. UNDER THE SUSPENDED PROVISION, LICENSEES MAY READ ALL JOURNAL ARTICLES TO FULFILL THEIR REMAINING CFE THIS LICENSE CYCLE. WE HOPE THIS ALLEVIATES SOME OF THE CONCERN WITH FULFILLING CFE BROUGHT ON BY THE CURRENT COVID-19 PANDEMIC.
CFE Instructions and Requirements
Forensic Analysts and Technicians will report all of their CFE over the two-year license period at the time of renewal (up to 60 days prior to the expiration of the license). CFE cannot be reported outside of a renewal application. For instructions on reporting CFE, follow our instructions posted in the link above.
To renew a forensic analyst or technician license, licensees must complete a Commission-sponsored mandatory legal and professional responsibility update by the expiration of each two-year license cycle as provided by the Commission. Forensic Technicians are not required to complete any other continuing forensic education requirements. Mandatory legal and professional responsibility training topics may include training on current and past criminal forensic legal issues, professional responsibility and human factors, courtroom testimony, disclosure and discovery requirements under state and federal law, and other relevant topics as designated by the Commission. The course may be accessed during the 60-day renewal period after a licensee begins his or her renewal application. The course can also be accessed anytime by visiting the TopClass catalog and typing "Legal" in the search bar.
All forensic analysts are be required to satisfy the following Continuing Forensic Education Requirements:
- Completion of twenty-four (24) continuing forensic education hours per 2-year license cycle.
- Eight (8) hours of the twenty-four (24) hours may be peer-reviewed journal articles - one peer-reviewed journal article equals one hour.
- Sixteen (16) hours of the twenty-four (24) must be discipline-specific training and/or conference education hours; if a licensee is licensed in multiple forensic disciplines, at least 8 hours of discipline-specific training in each forensic discipline are required.
- The remaining eight (8) hours may be general forensic training and/or conference education hours that include hours credited for the mandatory legal and professional responsibility training.
Approved continuing forensic education hours are applied for credit on the date the program and/or training is delivered.
If an applicant fails to fulfill any or all of the requirements pertaining to license renewal, continuing forensic education and the mandatory legal and professional responsibility update, the applicant may apply to the Commission for special dispensation. Upon approval by the Commission, the applicant may be allowed an extension of time to fulfill remaining continuing forensic education requirements.
Instructions for Reporting CFE hours
All CFE hours must be reported (and approved) through TopClass when the licensee renews his/her license. CFE hours may not be reported prior to a licensee beginning a renewal application in TopClass. Please see our instructions for renewal of a forensic analyst or forensic technician license as posted above for instructions on reporting your CFE. When reporting CFE hours, the analyst will self report the time they attended or participated in the activity and attach proof of attendance (certificate, sign-in sheet, or any other confirmation of attendance). For journal articles, analysts should upload the first page of the article or provide certification of the reading from laboratory management.
- Standards For Approval of CFE Activities
- Laboratory Application for CFE Credit for Laboratory-sponsored Training
- Chart of Approved/Unapproved CFE Activities
- Spreadsheet of Pre-Approved CFE Activities and CFE Codes for TopClass
Proficiency Testing Certification
All renewal applicants must submit with their application an updated copy of the proficiency testing certification form signed by the licensee's authorized laboratory representative. A copy of the form is provided below.
De Minimis Texas Casework License Renewal
De Minimis Texas Casework License Renewal for Laboratories
Laboratories seeking renewal of a De Minimis Texas Casework License may fill out the following application up to 90 days prior to the expiration of the laboratory's license. Forms should be submitted directly to Licensing@fsc.texas.gov for approval. Upon approval, laboratories will receive an invoice based on the number of analysts named in the application and payment for the license must be remitted within thirty (30) days.
De Minimis Texas Casework License Renewal for Non-interpreting Analysts
After your laboratory's De Minimis Texas Casework License is renewed/approved, individual examiners must go into their TopClass accounts within 60 days of the expiration date of their individual license and fill out the De Minimis Texas Casework Renewal Application. Please follow the instructions outlined in the document below to submit your individual De Minimis Texas Casework Renewal Application:
De Minimis Texas Casework License Renewal for Interpreting Analysts
Follow the instructions for regular license renewal described above.